<%@include file="menu.html" %>

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan. For assistance in exploring this site, please click here.

If you have feedback regarding this entry please fill out our feedback form.


Five of the six Kelvington sons who have played in the National Hockey League stand in front of their respective hockey cards, erected as a tribute to them at the entrance of the community. Left to right: Barry Melrose, Joey Kocur, Wendel Clark, Kerry Clark, and Kory Kocur. (Missing from the photo is Lloyd Gronsdahl whose hockey card is at the far left.)
Donald Link

Town, pop 1,007, located S of Greenwater Provincial Park, on Hwy 38 just N of its junction with Hwy 49. The town’s economy is largely based on agriculture, with area farms producing grain, cattle, and exotic livestock. The first settlers arrived in the district around 1900. The community’s location at the end of the CN line greatly contributed to its development, as Kelvington became an important grain-handling point and distribution centre. The former CN station, built in 1922, is now a heritage property. Today, the town has several dozen businesses and services, a number of which cater to the agricultural sector. Kelvington dubs itself “Canada’s Hockey Factory,” having had six players achieve success in the NHL; a large mural on the south edge of town depicts the players’ hockey cards. The town also hosts an annual summer hockey tournament and hockey school in July, and a fair and sports day in August. Parks and lakes in the region offer recreational opportunities and attract tourists. Hunting and fishing are popular area activities, as are cross-country skiing and snowmobiling.

David McLennan

Print Entry
This web site was produced with financial assistance
provided by Western Economic Diversification Canada and the Government of Saskatchewan.
University of Regina Government of Canada Government of Saskatchewan Canadian Plains Research Center
Ce site Web a été conçu grâce à l'aide financière de
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada et le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan.